top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul T Sjordal

I Have An Answer And You Don't


Ned the Giant Space Goat
Ned the Giant Space Goat

This is an addendum to How Else Do You Explain It?


Once again, theists seem to be under the impression that if they have an answer to a question and you don't (or if they reject your answer), this means that their answer is correct.


There are a large number of apologetic arguments that I have heard from Christians and Muslims that essentially reduce to this. They will insist that atheists "don't have an answer" to this or that question (never mind that we usually have answers to these questions, but that is irrelevant for now) and that because we don't have answers, that means their answers are therefore correct.


A lot of atheists get sucked into the framing and demonstrate that we do in fact have answers, but this ignores the larger point: it doesn't matter if we have answers to their questions. If they want to insist that their answers are correct, they have to provide proof that their answers are correct. Whether or not anyone else has answers to the same questions are irrelevant.


"I have an answer and you don't, therefore my answer is correct." Theists do not use this specific wording, but a lot of arguments they make reduce to this. Let us use our old friend reductio ad absurdum, in which we apply the logic of their argument to a different conclusion to demonstrate what is wrong with the supporting argument.


Why does God exist rather than not exist?


I have an answer to this question, but Christians and Muslims do not. You see, God was farted into existence by a giant space goat named Ned. There, now I have an answer to the above question while Christians and Muslims do not have an answer to this question (or I will simply decide to not accept any answer they give me), therefore my answer is correct and it is proven that Ned created God.


Since I have proved that Ned created God, this necessarily means that I have also proved that Ned exists. Sure, you might object that I never actually proved that Ned exists, nor did I actually prove that Ned created God, but you don't have an answer and I do, therefore my answer is correct. You just want to deny Ned because you don't want to thank Him for creating God. I'm getting really tired of these "List of Questions Atheists Can't Answer!" posts and videos all over the Internet. All too often, I get sucked into demonstrating that I can indeed answer the questions, but the whole point of these arguments is to deny the need for theists to provide proof for their own truth claims, and I have to stop letting them get away with it.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page